Welcome Guests and Members

WELCOME VISITORS AND NEW MEMBERS!

Login to:

  • View Attachments and Other Features
  • Post Topics
  • Reply to Posts
  • Access the "Give Away of the Day" - Below the Shoutbox
  • Share tips and good company

Login          Register


gmhCafe Shoutbox

Author Topic: stuck midi notes  (Read 1649 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Glenn

  • Alpha Wolf (when she's not around...lol)
  • The Crew
  • Commited Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2323
  • Karma: 21
  • Music and Nature's Harmony
    • gmhCafe
stuck midi notes
« on: June 17, 2015, 02:35:09 PM »
I love using Reaper, as this DAW is so versatile.   :)

versatile, but not perfect... lol  8) or it could even be something at my end, and NOT Reaper at all. not sure.  ::)

I'm not all that familiar with the inner workings of midi, it's inconsistencies, etc, I just use it in a very basic way - to record midi instruments ... I don't often investigate behind the workings into manipulating midi-data etc ... so this one has me stumped ... and I'd like to find out why, rather than just using the 'work around' I came up with, mentioned at the end of this post.  8)

I'm sure I can't be the only one who gets stuck midi notes when playing back through reaper.
Sometimes the midi channel itself just becomes 'autoMuted' - while playing... and I have to go back and disable all the elements in the chain on that track, like SampleTank, EQ, Reverb, Compressor, then turn them back on, and it may be ok for the next play through, maybe not... it's random.  ???

When it's a stuck midi note, the note just hangs, as if the 'note off' command hasn't been received.

Sometimes it's the same note but usually not.
Also, I notice that it seems to happen more frequently with 'organ' type of sounds - probably because they are meant to be sustained notes when 'on' ....

I thought it was because I had 'loop' on while playing back, but it does it when loop is off too.
I mentioned it on the Reaper forum a while back, where there's other posts on similar topic, but no reply.

I'm thinking it could be anything from a bad/old/ or incompatible midi cable , or something in the midi chain, like an added effect that seems to 'top out' the track, yet I seem to have LOTS of CPU
Asio is set for over 512 samples (less glitchy) but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

My work around has been to take the midi track once I'm happy with it, and render it to a wav file and bring it back in and then add the FX, comp etc to the chain. 

This works fine, but it's a 'p.i.t.a.' having to render just to get a note to stop hanging or to stop that automute from muting the track midstream.

I guess I'll start by swapping out cables, then go from there.

any suggestions from midi users?

 8)
« Last Edit: June 17, 2015, 02:38:13 PM by Glenn »
Old Eastern saying "Man who run in front of car, - get tired .... man who run behind car, get exhausted"
I like to ride IN cars, it's less tiring and less exhausting :)

Offline neilmac

  • Posting Freak
  • ****
  • Posts: 382
  • Karma: 10
  • Nature's Friend
Re: stuck midi notes
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2015, 12:50:18 PM »
I've never had that issue, but I don't use midi much - once in a while I'll use a drum VSTi, which "inserts" a midi pattern to the track...with no problems.


I have had the odd glitch where I get a "tone" on an audio track that won't switch off even though nothing is playing...it's almost like feedback....only solution is to exit Reaper and reload it... again, like Glenn, I don't know if it's really a Reaper issue or my computer itself or the FX plugins on that track :)




Offline Glenn

  • Alpha Wolf (when she's not around...lol)
  • The Crew
  • Commited Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2323
  • Karma: 21
  • Music and Nature's Harmony
    • gmhCafe
Re: stuck midi notes
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2015, 04:28:03 PM »
I've never had that issue, but I don't use midi much - once in a while I'll use a drum VSTi, which "inserts" a midi pattern to the track...with no problems.


I have had the odd glitch where I get a "tone" on an audio track that won't switch off even though nothing is playing...it's almost like feedback....only solution is to exit Reaper and reload it... again, like Glenn, I don't know if it's really a Reaper issue or my computer itself or the FX plugins on that track :)

hey Neil  :)

well, that's interesting... with the 'automute' issue, which may or may not be related to the stuck midi note issue, I've wondered if there's something 'different' in my workflow/set up etc... and I did notice that deselecting each FX in the offending track, then un muting the channel would reset it, so I could then select all the FX again, and it would work for maybe another play or two ...  tried swapping out different vst's ... but the track kept kicking into 'automute' ... which I think is like an auto shut off of signal to that track.

If the stuck midi note was the same note each time, and in the same spot, that would be one thing, but it's random notes in random places.

I think I'll try going for the next update when it comes out... probably a week or two, and I'll see if it helps, meanwhile, I'll try some other trouble shooting methods through the process of elimination (just love doing that! argh) and see what happens.
 
Also, I'll try swapping the keyboard I'm using now, for my Korg M1 ... but I don't think that's the issue, as the notes hang on playback, not while recording with the keyboard.  The keyboard isn't even on when it's playing back the tracks ... so that's why I think that's not the issue either. 

I'm wondering if it's the host vsti - SampleTank that generates the midi instrument,

Meanwhile, the work around by converting midi to wav is a sure fire way to avoid those stuck midi notes.  It takes an extra two minutes to render the track, check it, and then add the vst's etc to the wav track, and carry on with the project.

thanks for your feedback.
 :)
Old Eastern saying "Man who run in front of car, - get tired .... man who run behind car, get exhausted"
I like to ride IN cars, it's less tiring and less exhausting :)